Before the month, Chari will fly the SpaceX crew to the ISS Hyderabad News

Hyderabad: Days after being chosen by NASA for the mission of the month in 2024, Indian-American astronaut with roots in Telangana, Raja Von Vurputoor Chara, has now been selected for another space mission.
Chari will be among three astronauts selected by NASA and the European Space Agency (ESA) to serve as crew members for the NASA SpaceX Crew-3 mission to the International Space Station (ISS). The launch is scheduled for next year. “I am thrilled and honored to be involved in preparing for the trip,” Chari said in a tweet.
He will train with two other astronauts – Rom Marshburn and Mathhias Maurer – who have been selected for the ISS mission. NASA has announced that Chari will serve as commander, Marshburn as pilot and Maurer as mission specialist. Another crew member will also be selected later. “This will be the first space flight for Chari,” NASA said.
This will also be the first tip of the Maurer space.
“When Raja Chari, Marshburn and Maurer arrive at the orbit laboratory, they will be appointed members of the expedition crew during their six-month stay,” NASA said.
For more than 20 years, people have lived and worked continuously aboard the ISS, advancing scientific knowledge and demonstrating new technologies, making research discoveries on earth impossible. As a global effort, 242 people from 19 countries visited the unique microgravity laboratory that hosted more than 3,000 research and education investigations by researchers from 108 countries and areas, NASA said.
Raja Chari’s father, Srinivas Chari of Mahbubnagar, studied at Osmania University in Hyderabad and later migrated to the United States in the 1950s.
Chari was recently selected as one of 18 members of NASA’s “Artemis team” who planned a monthly exploration program for a man to stay on the moon. The mission also includes, as NASA said, “around the moon.”
Chari, who was born in Milwaukee, is a U.S. Air Force colonel with 2,500 flight hours and became a NASA astronaut in 2017.