IND vs NZ: Ashwin to set a record in Mumbai! This record can be set in Wankhede – IND vs NZ Mumbai test Wankhede Ravichandran Ashwin record tspo

Story highlights

  • Now Ashwin will show his spin in the Mumbai Test
  • The second Test of the series against New Zealand from Friday

In the first match of the ongoing Test series against New Zealand, India’s star off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin gave a banging performance. He did a great job with his spin. In the first Test at Kanpur, Ashwin not only outscored Harbhajan Singh (417 wickets) but also Bishan Singh Bedi (58) for the most wickets against New Zealand.

Ashwin, 35, took a total of 6 wickets (3/82 and 3/35) in his 80th Test, taking his total to 419. In other words, only Kapil Dev (434) and Anil Kumble (619) are now ahead of India in terms of taking the most wickets.

The second and final Test of the series against New Zealand will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from Friday. Ashwin can also add a record of this Test match to his record book. He has already become the highest wicket-taker against New Zealand, and if he takes eight more wickets in Mumbai, he will overtake the great Richard Hadley.

In fact, the record for most wickets in a Test match between India and New Zealand is held by Hadley. He took 65 wickets in 14 Tests. Ashwin has taken 58 wickets in 8 Tests so far. That means Ashwin will have to take eight more wickets to break Hadley’s record.

India v New Zealand: The highest wicket-taker

1. Richard Hadley (NZ), 14 Tests, 65 wickets
2. R. Ashwin (India), 8 Tests, 58 wickets
Bishan Singh Bedi (India), 12 Tests, 57 wickets

Ashwin has another chance to set a record at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. If he takes 9 wickets here, he will be Anil Kumble’s record for most wickets at this ground. Kumble took 38 wickets at Wankhede. Ashwin is currently second with 30 wickets.

Most wickets at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

1. Anil Kumble (India), 7 Tests, 38 wickets
2. R. Ashwin (India), 4 Tests, 30 wickets
Kapil Dev (India), 11 Tests, 28 wickets
Harbhajan Singh (India), 5 Tests, 24 wickets
5. Carson Ghawri (India), 6 Tests, 23 wickets
6. Ian Botham (England), 2 Tests, 22 wickets