Omicron: Maharashtra considers new quarantine institutional rules: only 6 “ultra-risk” nations

Passengers in six “high-risk countries” will have to go into institutional quarantine in Maharashtra, according to the revised rules of state government airports, which were announced today.

Here are the first five points in this story:

  1. Passengers in “at risk” nations no longer need an institutional quarantine on arrival.

  2. Maharashtra Minister Aaditya Thackeray told NDTV that state rules must be different from those of the Center, given his previous experience with the pandemic. “We were hit first, we were hit hardest and we were always responsible and transparent … so we have to be a little bit careful about our condition,” he said.

  3. Maharashtra announced a series of restrictions on Tuesday night that would come into force at midnight, which would have created problems for more than a thousand international passengers arriving.

  4. Subsequently, the state partially relaxed the restrictions. Aadtiya Thackeray said it was necessary because the passengers had no chance to plan their trips or finances.

  5. To date, more than 50 nations have had an Omicron brush or are “in danger.” The list includes European nations such as the United Kingdom, Germany, Spain, Belgium and Italy. In addition, South Africa, Botswana, Israel, Hong Kong and Japan have confirmed Omicron cases.