The counting of votes begins for 21,893 polling stations

Kerala Local Election Election Results 2020 LIVE Updates: The Kerala State Electoral Commission will begin counting votes today at 8 am for 21,893 polling stations from 1,200 local bodies that participated in the three-stage vote. While the LDF government hopes for an “iconic victory” over social assistance measures taken during the Covid-19 pandemic, the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) hopes to corner the LDF on corruption cases involving especially the head of the Minister’s Office in a case of gold smuggling. The third and final phase of local body polls ended Monday in Kerala in the northernmost four districts, with 78.62% turnout, according to the State Electoral Commission. According to the latest details issued by the SEC, Kozhikode district recorded the highest turnout with 78.98%, followed by Malappuram (78.86) and Kannur 77.54) Kasaragod recorded the lowest turnout with 77.14 %.

The second round of elections on December 10 for the districts of Kottayam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad and Wayanad recorded a turnout of 76.78%. The first phase for the southernmost districts, including Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha and Idukki, on December 8, recorded a turnout of 73.12%. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, EP Industry Minister Jayarajan, CPI (M) Chief Leader and Member of the Political Bureau Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, Congress Leader and former Minister Aryadan Mohammed, IUML President Panakkad Hyderali Shihab Thangal and P KKunhalik were among those who voted in the third phase. Vijayan later expressed confidence that the ruling Democratic Left Front would achieve an impressive victory in crucial polls by local bodies, considered a curtain-raiser for next year’s Assembly elections.