Yearender: Why 2020 was a year of BJP, AAP in elections India News

NEW DELHI: While 2019 will be remembered for the victory of Prime Minister Narendra Modi led by the NDA in the Lok Sabha elections, 2020 will be remembered as the year in which the BJP made big gains in polls for local bodies across the country. Moreover, while the BJP won and Bihar assembly elections, Led by Arvind Kejriwal Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) decisively won the Delhi state polls for the second consecutive term.
The year will also be remembered for the elections that took place during COVID-19 times. Delhi Assembly Elections they took place in February, when the pandemic had not yet become a threat. When the Bihar polls were held in October-November, coronavirus disease had begun to recede after reaching crescendo.
The performance of the BJP in several assembly bypolls held this year has been impressive. He has also made rapid progress in elections for local bodies in several states, from Kashmir to Kerala and from the northeast to Rajasthan.
Assembly elections
The year 2020 began with the elections for the Delhi assembly, which took place in February. Prime Minister of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal – whose first period of CM in 2013-2014 is known as AK-49 because his government lasted only 49 days – all weapons came out in flames.
While the AAP won 67 of the 70 assembly seats in 2015, leaving only three for the BJP, its number dropped slightly to 62. The BJP improved the number of seats in its cat to eight.
The performance of the Congress was as humiliating in 2020 as in 2015. He could not open his account in both elections.
In the Bihar assembly election, the BJP seat rose significantly. It became the second largest party after RJD led by Lalu Prasad. While the RJD won 75 of the 243 meeting places, the BJP was only one seat at 74. Together with its partner NDA – JD (U) which was then led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar – the BJP re-formed government in the state.
The BJP won at the expense of Congress, which was again the biggest loser.
Bypoll assembly
The BJP also won in the recent assembly harvest in several states, including Madhya Pradesh, where it won 19 of the 28 constituencies; Manipur, where he won four of the five constituencies that went to the polls; Uttar Pradesh, where he won eight of the nine places; and Gujarat, where he emerged victorious in all eight places.
Earlier, he won the by-elections of the Dubakka assembly in Telangana, snatching the seat from the TRS leadership led by Prime Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao.
However, the BJP received an obstacle on the road to the Baroda assembly in Haryana, where it lost to Congress. Olympic fighter and Yogeshwar Dutt of the BJP lost the by-elections in Haryana’s Sonipat district to Congress’s Indu Raj Narwal. It was Yogeshwar Dutt’s second consecutive defeat. He had lost to Congress Krishan Hooda.
Elections of local bodies
BJP significantly improved its performance in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) election, ranking second in the ruling TRS. He left behind AIMIM led by Asaduddin Owaisi.
And in the civic elections in Rajasthan, the BJP won more seats than the ruling Congress.
In the local elections in Kerala, the BJP made an unprecedented foray into state politics. This time he not only improved his 1200 seats in the previous elections from 2015 to 1600, but also made his way to the strongholds of senior congressional leaders, such as former defense minister AK Antony, former chief minister Oommen Chandy, Kerala Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala and Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha MP Shashi Tharoor.
He also emerged victorious in Sabarimala, which falls to Pandalam. Sabarimala was the epicenter of protests organized by the party along with other Hindu groups against the entry of menstruating women into the temple.
The BJP also advanced in the northeast, winning elections for Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) and Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) in Assam and civic polls in Arunachal Pradesh.
In the recent BTC elections, the BJP won nine seats and aligned itself with the Liberal People’s Party (UPPL) to come to power. In the 2015 BTC elections, the BJP had won only one seat and was in power in coalition with its state government alliance partner – the Bodo People’s Front (BPF). However, he did not align with GMP to come to power in the Bodoland Territorial Council.
In the TAC elections, the BJP won an overwhelming 33 seats and came to power. In the 2015 elections, he won only three seats.
The BJP was the biggest winner, while Congress and the PDP were the biggest losers in the first District Development Council (DDC) elections held in Jammu and Kashmir. These were also the first elections after the repeal of Article 370 of August 2019 and the change of the status of Jammu and Kashmir from a state to a territory of the Union.
BJP made an entry in the Kashmir Valley winning three of the 140 seats. It was a major boost for the national party. The declaration of the seven-party People’s Alliance for the Gupkar Alliance (PAGD or popularly known as the Gupkar Alliance) came out victorious in most places in the Kashmir Valley, while the BJP performed well in the Jammu region was highly anticipated.
While all 10 districts in the Kashmir Valley are Muslim-dominated, six of the 10 districts in the Jammu region are dominated by Hindus. The other four districts of Rajouri, Poonch, Doda and Kishtwar, which border the Kashmir Valley, have a sizeable Muslim population. The results were more or less a mirror of the 2014 Jammu and Kashmir rally and the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.
Of the 280 seats – 140 each in the Kashmir Valley and in the Jammu region – BJP emerged as the largest party, winning 74 seats. While the National Conference (NC), led by Farooq Abdullah, won 67 seats, the Democratic People’s Party (PDP), led by Mehbooba, won 27 seats and Congress 26.
Following the pre-vote arrangements, the seven-party Gupkar Alliance, made up mainly of the PDP and the NC, was the overall winner with 112 seats.
The BJP also emerged victorious in the Ladakh Hill Council election. Ladakh was branched off from Jammu and Kashmir and was created as a separate territory of the Union during the annulment of Article 370.
The BJP also maintained a nice lead in the election results in the Karnataka panchayat. It appeared to be a repeat of the 2018 state assembly elections. The BJP claimed to lead the leadership, with Congress to be second and JD (S) a distant third.
However, the year ended for BJP on another note. The Haryana coalition government, ruling the BJP-Jannayak Janta (JJP) party, received it on Wednesday because it could win only one of the three mayoral seats for which elections were held on December 27. The results are important because of protests against the three central agri-government laws and several of the 41 farmers’ unions belong to the state.
While the BJP fought to win in Panchkula, Congress and the Haryana Jan Chetna Party (HJCP) held mayoral posts in Sonipat and Ambala, respectively.
For the first time, direct elections were held for mayor in the three cities.