Yuvraj Singh, Sreesanth named in the probable teams for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

From: PTI |

December 15, 2020 4:14:07 PM

Yuvraj Singh and Sreesanth (Photo file / AFP)

Former Yuvraj Singh, who won the World Cup, will retire and play cricket again after being named on the list of the 30 likely in Punjab for next month’s Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

Yuvraj, the star of India’s 2011 World Cup winning campaign, announced his retirement in June last year, but decided to resume play for his home state after being approached by Punjab Cricket Association secretary Puneet Bali.

The 39-year-old left-handed handkerchief, who played 304 ODIs, 40 tests and 58 T20Is for India, trained at the PCA stadium in Mohali and posted a video of his training on social media.

Yuvraj participated in the Global T20 League in Canada after retirement.

Also, the left-arm tailor Barinder Sran, who was part of the Vijay Hazare Trophy team in Punjab, which led him to the transition to Chandigarh last year, was included on the list of odds.

BCCI intends to lead the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy, the T20 national championship, on January 10, the places for which they will be declared later.

The tournament will take place in bio-security, and the teams will have to gather at the respective bases by January 2.

Probably from Punjab: Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Abhishek Sharma, Salil Arora, Gitansh Khera, Ramandeep Singh, Sanvir Singh, Karan Kaila, Rahul Sharma, Krishan Alang, Sandeep Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, Ikjot Singh, Naman Dhir, Abhishek Gupta, Singansy, Himansh , Prabhsimran Singh, Nehal Wadhera, Anmol Malhotra, Aarush Sabharwal, Abhinav Sharma, Harpreet Brar, Mayank arkande, Baltej Singh, Siddharth Kaul, Barinder Sarn, Gurnoor Singh, Harjas, Abhijit Garg, Kunwar Pathak.

Sreesanth among the probable in Kerala

Former fast bowler from India S Sreesanth approached the return to competitive cricket on Tuesday after being named in a list of 26 odds by Kerala for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament.

Sreesanth, 37, was banned by BCCI for his alleged involvement in the on-site fixation in the IPL, along with Sanju Samson, Sachin Baby, Jalaj Saxena, Robin Uthaapa and Basil Thampi, among others.

The T20 tournament is scheduled to begin on January 2nd.

Its ban ended in September this year.

Pacerul, who last represented India in 2011, will attend a preparatory camp to be held here on December 20-30, sources said.

Sreesanth, who was part of the triumphant Indian teams in the 2007 World T20 and 2011 World Cup, was previously named in one of the teams for a local T20 tournament to be organized by the Kerala Cricket Association in Alappuzha on December 17.

The COVID-19 pandemic resulted in a delay in the domestic season, and the T20 tournament will mark the beginning of the 2020-21 season.

List of probabilities in Kerala: Robin Uthappa, Jalaj Saxena, Sanju Samson, Vishnu Vinod, Rahul P, Mohammed Azarudeen, Rohan Kunnumel, Sachin Baby, Salman Nizar, Basil Thampi, S Sreesanth, MD Nideesh, KM Asif, Basil NP, Akshay Chandran, Sijomon Joseph, Midhun S , Abhishek Mohan, Vatsal Govind, Anand Joseph, Vinoop Manoharan, Midhun PK, Sreeroop, Akshay KC, Rojith, Arun M.

📣 Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay up to date with the latest headlines

For all the latest sports news, download the Indian Express app.